The seasons on Earth are caused by the tilt of the Earth's axis - they are NOT caused by the differences in the distance from the Sun throughout the year. Only in the temperate climates and generally mid-latitude areas do we experience four distinct seasons. Although many of you may believe this is really a reason to worship the sun or decorate your house, the seasons, and the accompanying weather are important to the development of plant and animal life.

  1. Spring – leaves sprout, flowers bloom
  2. Summer – fertilized flowers for fruits
  3. Fall – fruits seed leaves fall
  4. Winter – buds protect new growth