Monopoly Game Pieces Used Over the Years

First published by Parker Brothers in 1935, Monopoly is a board game where players roll dice to move around the game-board buying and trading properties, and develop them with houses and hotels. Players collect rent from their opponents, with the goal being to drive them into bankruptcy.  The game launched with 6 pieces and now is played with 8, but those pieces have changed over the years.  Below is a list of all 16 pieces that have been used so far, including whether they were original, added later, have been retired, or are a part of the current game that is sold today:

  • The top hat (original six – current piece)
  • The thimble (original six – current piece)
  • The iron (original six – now retired)
  • The boot (original six – now retired)
  • The battleship (original six – current piece)
  • The cannon (original six – now retired)
  • The race car (1936 – current piece)
  • The purse (1936 – now retired)
  • The rocking horse (1936 – now retired)
  • The lantern (1936 – now retired)
  • Scottie dog (1950s or after – current piece)
  • Wheelbarrow (1950s or after – current piece)
  • Horse and rider (1950s or after – now retired)
  • Sack of money (1999 – now retired)
  • Cat (new in 2013 – current piece)
  • T-rex (2017 – current piece)